The DEMentia FACT boxes (DEMFACT) Study: Fact Box decision support tools for the use of antibiotics and artificial hydration in advanced dementia

Dementia is the third most frequent cause of death in Switzerland. At the end-of-life, patients with advanced dementia commonly experience clinical complications such as repeated pneumonia episodes or insufficient fluid intake. Consequently, patients frequently receive antibiotics or artificial hydration, but these interventions are burdensome and have limited benefits at the end-of-life.

Because of the impaired judgment that accompanies advanced dementia, and in the absence of a patient decree, medical decision-making is delegated to legally authorized representatives – mostly relatives or professional guardians. These legally authorized representatives may find themselves confronted with difficult decisions, in particular when information about patients’ treatment preferences or possible treatment effects is missing. This can result in decisional conflicts and subsequent over- or undertreatment. Research suggests that decision aids can help enhance the quality of decisions, leaving relatives more statisfied with and confident about their choice.

A candidate decision support tool, ‘Fact Box’, has originally been developed in the US and was recently introduced in Germany through the Harding Center for Risk Literarcy at the Max Planck Insitute for Human Development. Simply put, these fact boxes present balanced information on the benefits and harms of receiving versus not receiving a treatment in an easily understandable way. Despite their general success, there is no Fact Box specifically tailored to dementia. The DEMFACT project aimed address this gap by developing separate Fact Boxes on the use of antibiotics and artificial hydration in advanced dementia (you can download the Fact Boxes with the link provided on the top right of this page). DEMFACT was a randomized controlled trial conducted in the Swiss-German region of Switzerland and included 64 physicians, 100 relatives of dementia patients, and 68 professional guardians. The objectives were to test whether our newly developed Fact Box decision support tools impacted decisional conflict, knowledge, and preferences about the use of antibiotics and artificial hydration in advanced dementia. The study findings will be presented in a forthcoming publication.

 

Project responsibility:

Division of Psychiatry Research und Psychogeriatric Medicine, University of Zurich:

  • Dr. med. Florian Riese, Managing Principle Investigator

Center for Gerontology, University of Zurich:

  • Prof. Dr. phil. Mike Martin
  • Dr. Stefanie Eicher
  • Dr. Nathan Theill
  • MSc. Andrea Loizeau

Sponsored by (funding programme ‘Research in Palliative Care’):

  • Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences, SAMS
  • Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation
  • Gottfried and Julia Bangerter-Rhyner-Foundation

Duration of the project:
3/2015 – 3/2018

Contact:
Andrea Loizeau  andrea.loizeau@zfg.uzh.ch

Die DEMenz FACT boxes (DEMFACT) Studie:
«Fact Box» Entscheidungs-Unterstützung für Antibiotika und künstliche Flüssigkeitszufuhr bei fortgeschrittener Demenz

Demenz ist die dritthäufigste Todesursarche in der Schweiz. Am Lebensende leiden Patienten mit fortgeschrittener Demenz gehäuft unter klinischen Komplikationen wie Lungenentzündungen oder unzureichender Flüssigkeitszufuhr. Infolgedessen werden üblicherweise Antibiotika oder künstliche Flüssigkeitszufuhr und somit Interventionen eingesetzt, die eine Belastung darstellen, der am Lebensende nicht notwendigerweise ein entsprechender Nutzen gegenübersteht

Da bei fortgeschrittener Demenz die Urteilsfähigkeit massgeblich eingeschränkt ist, werden Behandlungsentscheidungen vor allem von den gesetzlichen Vertretern – meist Angehörige oder Berufsbeistände/innen – getroffen (sofern keine Patientenverfügung vorhanden ist). Wenn eine medizinische Entscheidung ansteht, befinden sich die gesetzlichen Vertreter oft in einer schwierigen Lage, insbesondere wenn keine Informationen zu den Behandlungspräferenzen der betroffenen Person oder zu den möglichen Effekten der Behandlung vorliegen. Entscheidungskonflikte können belastend sein und zu Über- oder Unterbehandlung des Patienten führen. Forschungsergebnisse zeigen aber, dass Entscheidungshilfen dazu beitragen können, Entscheidungen eher im Sinne der betroffenen Personen zu treffen, so dass Angehörige anschliessend zufriedener und sicherer bezüglich der getroffenen Entscheidung sind.

Mögliche Entscheidungshilfen sind die sogenannten „Faktenboxen“ (im englischen „Fact Boxes“), welche ursprünglich in den USA entwickelt und in Deutschland kürzlich durch das Harding-Zentrum für Risikokompetenz des Max-Planck-Insituts für Bildungsforschung eingeführt wurden. Sie enthalten evidenzbasierte Daten über die Nutzen und Risiken einer bestimmten Behandlung in leicht verständlicher Form. Trotz des generellen Erfolges, gab es noch keine Faktenboxen die spezifisch auf Demenz gerichtet waren. Das DEMFACT-Projekt hatte daher zum Ziel entsprechende Faktenboxen über die Effekte von Antibiotika und künstlicher Flüssigkeitzufuhr bei Fortgeschrittener Demenz zu entwickeln und zu evaluieren (die Faktenboxen können mit dem Link oben rechts auf dieser Seite hochgeladen werden). DEMFACT war eine randomisierte kontrollierte Studie, die in der Deutsch-Schweiz durchgeführt wurde und 64 Ärtze/innen, 100 Angehörige, und 68 Berufsbeistände/innen befragte. Konkret wurde die Wirkung der neu entwickelten Faktenboxen auf Entscheidungskonflikt,Wissen, und die Präferenzen bezüglich der Gabe von Antibiotika und künstlicher Flüssigkeitzufuhr bei fortgeschrittener Demenz erhoben. Die Hauptergebnisse der Studie werden in Kürze veröffentlicht..

 

Projektverantwortung:

Abteilung für psychiatrische Forschung und Klinik für Alterspsychiatrie, Universität Zürich:

  • Dr. med. Florian Riese, Managing Principle Investigator

Zentrum für Gerontologie, Universität Zürich:

  • Prof. Dr. phil. Mike Martin
  • Dr. Stefanie Eicher
  • Dr. Nathan Theill
  • MSc. Andrea Loizeau

Gefördert durch (Förderprogramm „Forschung in Palliative Care“):

  • Schweizerische Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften, SAMW
  • Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung
  • Gottfried und Julia Bangerter-Rhyner-Stiftung

Laufzeit:
3/2015 – 3/2018

Kontakt: 
Andrea Loizeau  andrea.loizeau@zfg.uzh.ch