About us: Topics – Goals – Tasks

Old Age – a societal challenge

Considerable growth rates in the number of old and very old people currently shape society – a trend that will continue to persist in the coming decades. The risks and chances that come with this demographic change affects all generations, as for example in the contexts of social, financial and medical eldercare, the care of family members, or counseling and prevention.

This development gives way to a multitude of questions regarding adequate approaches on both individual as well as societal levels towards the future social, emotional, ethical, political, legal, and financial dynamics of aging and old age. This includes questions pertinent to societal participation and integration of older people, early recognition of high-risk developments, handling of burdens, prevention and treatment of age-related morbidities, the potential of training programs and other interventions, counseling, caregiving and education as well as preparation for old age.

By means of networking between social sciences, humanities, natural sciences and medical disciplines, as well as linking up with demands of applied gerontology, such questions can be answered and evidence-based guidelines developed.

Generate Knowledge about «Good» Aging

The Center for Gerontology of the Zurich University aims for scientific foundations for an aging process with good quality of life. In order to do so it strives towards interdisciplinary collaboration of research and teaching in all fields of gerontology.

The Center raises awareness for gerontological issues in economics, politics, culture, church and the larger public and fosters collaboration and understanding among researchers, older people, and professionals from various fields of services and work for elderly people.

Research, Development, Transfer

The Center for Gerontology researches conditions and possibilities, especially of

  • the promotion and stabilization of quality of life in old age and in the aging process
  • the participation of elderly people also in aging research
  • the knowledge transfer between research and practice

It conceives and pilots

  • innovative counseling approaches for the application of gerontological knowledge in the contexts of individual living conditions and social structures
  • methods to measure, promote and stabilize quality of life in old age
  • methods related to practice for the evaluation of gerontological interventions

The Center for Gerontology provides

  • opportunities for collaboration between researchers in gerontology at the University of Zurich and other research institutions
  • findings from gerontology research for the professional and larger public as well as gerontological enquiries from the practice for researchers
  • action knowledge in the form of consulting services for older people, family members and professionals
  • basic knowledge concerning gerontological research methods for interested professionals and multipliers
  • high quality programs of further education for gerontologists on all levels of academic qualification

Über uns: Themen – Ziele – Aufgaben

Alter – eine gesellschaftliche Herausforderung

Die aktuelle Gesellschaft ist durch eine deutliche Zunahme älterer und sehr alter Menschen geprägt – ein Trend, der über die nächsten Jahrzehnte anhalten wird. Die Risiken und Chancen der demografischen Alterung betreffen alle Generationen, etwa im Rahmen der sozialen, finanziellen und medizinischen Altersversorgung, der Pflege von Angehörigen oder der Beratung und Prävention.

Dies wirft vielfältige Fragen auf nach einem adäquaten individuellen und gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit den zukünftigen sozialen, emotionalen, ethischen, politischen, rechtlichen und finanziellen Dynamiken des Alter(n)s. Dazu gehören Fragen rund um die gesellschaftliche Partizipation und Integration älterer Menschen, die Früherkennung risikobehafteter Entwicklungsverläufe, den Umgang mit Belastungen, die Prävention und Behandlung alterskorrelierter Erkrankungen, die Potenziale von Trainings und Interventionen, die Beratung, Betreuung und Ausbildung sowie die Vorbereitung auf das Alter.

Durch Vernetzung der Forschung zwischen sozial-, geistes-, naturwissenschaftlichen und medizinischen Disziplinen und durch die Verknüpfung mit Anforderungen der praktischen Altersarbeit können solche Fragen beantwortet und evidenzbasierte Handlungsempfehlungen entwickelt werden.

Wissen schaffen über das «gute» Altern

Das Zentrum für Gerontologie der Universität Zürich (ZfG) erarbeitet wissenschaftliche Grundlagen für ein Altern mit guter Lebensqualität, entwickelt, erprobt und erforscht individualisierte Interventionen und strebt zu diesem Zweck die interdisziplinäre Vernetzung von Forschung und Lehre auf allen Gebieten der Alterswissenschaften an.

Das Zentrum sensibilisiert Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur, Kirche und Öffentlichkeit für gerontologische Fragen und fördert die Zusammenarbeit und Verständigung zwischen Forschenden, älteren Menschen selbst und in der praktischen Altersarbeit Tätigen.

Forschung, Entwicklung, Vermittlung

Das Zentrum für Gerontologie erforscht Bedingungen und Möglichkeiten insbesondere

  • der individuellen Förderung und Stabilisierung von Lebensqualität im Alter(n)
  • der Partizipation älterer Menschen auch in der Altersforschung
  • des Wissenstransfers zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis

Es konzipiert und erprobt

  • innovative Beratungsmassnahmen zur Anwendung gerontologischer Erkenntnisse auf individuelle Lebensverhältnisse und soziale Strukturen
  • Methoden zur individualisierten Messung, Förderung und Stabilisierung von Lebensqualität im Alter
  • praxisbezogene Methoden der Evaluation gerontologischer Interventionen

Das Zentrum für Gerontologie vermittelt

  • Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit zwischen gerontologisch Forschenden an der Universität Zürich und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen
  • Erkenntnisse aus der gerontologischen Forschung an die fachliche und breitere Öffentlichkeit sowie Fragestellungen aus der Praxis an die gerontologisch Forschenden
  • Handlungswissen in Form von Beratungsangeboten an ältere Menschen, Angehörige und Fachpersonal
  • grundlegende Kenntnisse gerontologischer Forschungsmethoden an interessierte Fachpersonen und MultiplikatorInnen
  • eine qualitativ hochwertige Aus- und Weiterbildung von GerontologInnen auf allen universitären Qualifikationsstufen

Das Zentrum für Gerontologie ist innerhalb der UZH, national und international mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen und Organisationen gut vernetzt.